September 1st, 2010 11:17 AM by Christopher Terry
Massachusetts recently updated its laws regarding the installation of smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors upon sale under Massachusetts General Law chapter 148 section 26F. Change changes took place on April 5, 2010 and can be alittle confusing for those of us who are so familiar with the older regulations. The major change is the fact that now all smoke detectors installed within 20 feet of kitchens and baths (baths containing a tub or shower) must be photoelectric detectors. The risk of nuisance alarms is lower with photoelectric only alarms. Any installation outside of 20 feet of kitchens and baths must utilize either a DUAL detector (containing bith ionization and photoelectric) or there must TWO separate detectors (one photoelectric and one ionization).
For residences not subject to MGL c 148, s 26F (home built after Jan 1975) the smoke detector upgrade is recommended but not required by law. Confused? You are not alone. To help homeowners better understand these changes the Massachusetts Department of Fire Services created A Guide to the Massachusetts Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Requirements. Please feel free to click the link and download the guide. You can also visit http://www.mass.gov/dfs.
If you are selling or thinking of selling in Massachusetts this guide should help you determine if an upgrade will be needed. It's a good idea to have an understanding of all possible expenses when make the decision to move. If an upgrade is required and you are unsure where to find the correct detectors please feel free to give us a call. We also have several quality electricians that we would be happy to refer to you.
Best of Luck to You!Christopher TerryBroker/Owner/FounderEZ Home Search Real Estatechris@ezhomesearch.net508.646.4777 X105